"Laws should not be rigid or fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places."

I agree laws should not be rigid; They should be flexible. But what should be the deciding factor? As mentioned in the question it should take into account of circumstances, times and places. However, I think laws should be treat the crime on how punitive the action was and should also be based upon the reason behind it. For example, take the case of self-defense. Someone is trying to kill you; your response would to just save your life. Now in trying to save your life you inadvertently killed that person. In normal circumstance the punishment for the murder would be death penalty or tantamount to that. However, in this situation as the motive was not bad. It was just that somehow you wanted to save your life. The sentence would not be as punitive as in the former case.

Now consider the case of rape; what is the intention behind rape. No matter what it is, it is bad and should be punished irrespective of the motive behind it. Because the reason is to harm somebody else.

Consider the case of some policemen in mass shooting. His intention is to take down the shooter/s. While in doing that he accidentally killed some civilians. Should he be punishment be same as for the shooter? No, because the reason/intention behind both of those men were different. One was trying to save someone’s life and other the was doing just opposite of that. And hence the punishment should be different.

In conclusion I would like to say that it is the reason/intention that should be the deciding factor instead of place etc. etc.