Laws should not be stationary and fixed. Instead, they should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Laws, a system of rules enforced by authority to govern behaviors of individuals and the government, are indispensable tools to maintain social discipline and moral justice. It is always a hotly debated issue whether or not laws should be contingent to as many circumstances as possible to be flexible.

For those advocating the more exhaustive and flexible laws, their reasons are listed as follows. First, instruction for individual’s behavior, as one of essential functions of laws, tends to be more specific and effective when laws contain more circumstances, thus better helping people behave more liberally. For instance, a driver might hesitate to break the traffic rules to rush a patient to the hospital if laws are not explicit enough to include such situation. He could be, however, more determined if this kind of emergence has already been taken into account in laws. In this case, more flexible laws instruct the driver how to behave properly and could even save a life. Second, laws, as reflection of social morality, are supposed to keep evolving with social practice. Adherence to the old rules, sometimes anachronism may have great conflicts with new situation. An appropriate example is not very far to seek. The rights of LGBTQ are now almost social consensus in western society, but homosexuality was even a serious crime according to laws hundred years ago. Laws should keep flexible to reflect the current social senses of justice, otherwise laws could well to be considered as evil laws and even lose their power in public. Last but not least, laws cannot include every circumstance since the complexity of human behavior, thus flexibility is more appreciated because it prevents laws to stiffen into some dogmatisms.

Nevertheless, there are also many reasons why laws should not be so flexible, rather, laws are supposed to be stationary and rigid. The most compelling reason is the possibility of exploitation of loopholes. When laws become increasingly complicated to strive to include everything necessary, the loopholes would appear more or less. The e-waste is a typical example. When congressman tried to adapt laws into latest technology circumstances; they forgot the background of globalization. Big corporations in the US shipped electronical wastes to developing countries to avoid disposal expenses. Additionally, to make matter worse, some people with hidden agenda might exploit the loopholes to serve their own interests, which would even lead to social chaos when such loopholes are obvious. People in power are especially likely to exploit the flexibility of laws to threaten, even hollow the democracy and achieve totalitarian. The most compelling example is the culture revolution in Chinese history, when Chairman Mao tried to edit laws directly, even put some of his own willing into the constitution in the name of flexibility of laws. In the scenario above, it is crucial to abide by the laws and keep alert of those who want to edit laws to preserve democracy.

Furthermore, it is important to take the costs of laws amendment into account. It always takes congress years even decades to debate and finally pass the bill or the amendment, which costs taxpayers sometimes much more than the benefits flexible laws would bring. In this sense, it may be more sensible to strike a balance between the flexibility and rigidity in the process of legislation. However, in the enforcement of laws, or rather, jurisdiction, with the help of discretion power, judges could sometimes render the laws more flexible or sentence in his or her own consciousness. What is more, hotly debated issue like homosexual marriage could be judged in the Supreme Court, which could fulfill both the fairness and efficiency.

To conclude, legislation should strike a balance to save unnecessary costs, to help the good function of society and democracy, to better instruct our behaviors. Additionally, with the help of jurisdiction, laws could be more flexible, thus more efficient in the process of enforcement.