Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

As the saying goes,” Times make heroes.” Indeed, in waves of forwarding history, leaders are usually seen as the symbols of the demands that are placed on them. In my view, I agree much about the statement, while we need also pay attention to the inner qualities that make an ordinary man become a great leader.

From the historical materialism, men could not create the history; heroes always born in an appropriate time when them are supposed to accomplish great tasks which others could hardly do. We will discover an interesting law if we look back on the political world during past centuries---where there is an ineluctable pushing power, there exits leaders. George Washington, born in a time when people in British colonies could not tolerant the heavy taxes and harsh policies any more, leaded people to rise up against colonists and established a new country. Xiaoping Deng ,on realizing that the trend of world is to integrate into the international world and reform the centralized economic system, took the reform and open policy which contributes to a thriving China. Therefore, it is easy to recognize the fact that though the demands of the trend or the need of most people call for a great leader to stand on the stage, the leader himself should catch the chance and fully prepare for them. In business area, it is the same. For example, Steve Jobs understood the importance of computer science and the profound impacts high-tech would have on the human lives in future, he devoted to the sunrise industry and created the famous corporation, Apple. Not only do they conform their goals with the development of the trend, but they get start earlier than others and dominate the advantage.

However, sometimes leaders just exaggerate or fabricate missions that are placed on them, while in fact nobody actually hope so. They make use of the defects of human psychology, rationalize their own leaderships by intensifying them. For instance, Hitler, who was notorious for his crime for slaughters on the Jewish people and the causes of WW2, continued passing down a message to Germane people that they were the most elegant people in the world, and all the Jewish should be swept away from the Earth. Obviously ,these claims seem absurd today, but they did greatly influence his people at that time, inciting a sense of irrational chauvinism. So, some leaders, especially those with ill or mad ideas, justify their crazy actions on excuse of a sanctified responsibility on them.

In order to be an eligible leader, they should not only realize the necessities to realize a right goal, but improve themselves to such an altitude that they can take control of any situation. According to Max Weber, there are three types of powers:charismatic, traditional and legal-rational. Most times, great leaders who advocated by people have their unique characters and charms, like Gandhi, and Mandela. However, if they want to create a new age and sustain their fruits, they have to transform their leadership in an appropriate way. Just take a look at the process of founding the democratic system in western countries ,in contrast to the replacement of emperors in ancient times. Therefore, it is also important for a leader to improve their internal qualities as to edify groups of people.

In conclusion, despite that the demands of time impose great responsibilities on leaders, they need also improve their own abilities and catch the opportunities in order to accomplish great missions.