The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals

Conveniences are the product of technology. By consuming energy, conveniences make the life easier for the people. We need oil to run our vehicles. We need electricity to turn on our computer, television, lamps, microwave, washing machine, and so on. Dependence of human being on the conveniences can be revealed clearly by the dependence of us on consuming the energy. The rising price of energies and the threat of wars on energies are the other factors alarming the increasing dependence of energies. In turn, this means the relying of us on our energy-consuming stuffs, our conveniences.

Indeed, conveniences make us dependent and weak in some respects, as the statement above asserts. By doing works on laptops, sitting in front of the television and ordering virtually everything via internet people do not promote physical activities. Due to this fact, obesity percentage in the United States of America is rising as the cardiovascular diseases in parallel are growing.

Furthermore, luxuries are the product of consumerism. People buy expensive stuffs merely because it is a fashion. Consider those who unjustifiably pay for an Android phone or an iPhone. They pay hundreds of dollars to keep up with the fashion of having a luxurious cell phone while they are not using it proportional to the price they pay. Of course it is not bad to have a cutting edge cell phone. The problem is the unnecessary money paid each year after another year to buy such stuffs without any firm reason. Therefore, luxuries can render us weak in thinking about controlling our spending because of their fashionable attraction.

After all, it is not the conveniences or luxurious items precluding us from being strong or independent. It is the lack of proper usage of them; possessing these things and being strong are not mutually exclusive unless we do not have the correct mores of using them. For instance, we might become addicted to playing online video games on a luxurious laptop. But the same tool provides us with the myriads of opportunities to learn more and develop a stronger characteristic; it makes available of myriads of electronic books, online instructive websites like testbig.com, and a virtual place to discuss and find solutions for our problems. Hence, we cannot deny the positive role of such stuffs in making us stronger.

As discussed in the body paragraphs, the human population is heading toward becoming weak with the overdue use of conveniences. Furthermore, fashion of having the luxury items are precluding the people to think properly and spend properly. Nevertheless, it is not the luxury items or conveniences precluding us from being independent or strong. It is the lack of proper usage and bad culture that renders us weak as these stuffs have also their positive role in our life.