"The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement here states the fact that is extremely relevant in today's world. I strongly agree with this statement that giving luxury and conveniences to people prohibits their development into independent and reliable individuals. As a coal

can only become a diamond when it is under pressure, similarly to enhance the abilities of a person, he or she has to go through certain struggles and hardships in order to come out as a responsible person on whom the society can bank upon.

Firstly, a person tends to become lazy when things for him or her become easily available. They tend to take things for granted being oblivious to the efforts put in to reach such a state. Take the case of most of the famous celebrities. We can

see a two-way example from their cases in this. Most of them either struggle a lot in their initial days due to lack of facilities or go through hard emotional failures in order to become what they are today. But does that mean that their children will too happen to be of the same level of achiever? Of course not. How many such cases do you see in which both parent-child are famous for their work? This is mostly because the person went through a lot which moulded him or her into a strong individual whereas their children got all the luxuries, thanks to their parents and remained isolated from worldly hardships. Consequently, they could not become what their parents have.

Secondly, when a person has so many amenities at reachable distance, it prohibits him or her of independent thinking. It makes them dependable on others for everything on others. It prohibits their physical growth as well as mental growth. Not only do they become a liability to the society, their overall contribution in their own life is next to negligible. The society looks for resources such as Dr. Kalam who had no means when he was studying to become a scientist. It doesn't need people like politician Rahul Gandhi who has become a target of jokes because of his foolishness.

Contrary to what has been stated, it can be argued that luxuries and conveniences are earned by these people and they deserve it. But does that mean it applies to everyone who has access to such facilities? In most cases they inherit it from their forefathers. Take the case of children of famous film stars and politicians like the Gandhi family in India. Though their ancestors had struggled and in the end became independent individuals, their children became lucky to have it all at a young age. Also, people who have such luxuries can be told to have the cushion to experiment in their life, without the fear

of consequences of failure. Either they can grow their amenities or contribute to the society. but this seldom happens. It is either by individualistic interest or greed for money.

Lastly, I would again like to point out that when you have a over-the-head comfort cushion, you will worry more about being relaxed than working hard for things in life. It makes the individual weak who becomes highly susceptible to breaking down in tough situations and also dependent on others for trivial things as well.