The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

History allows people to look into their past and use the past experience and knowledge to anticipate future. Although there is a famous sentence said:" history repeat itself", it does not means people are wholly the same as the past. According to the history, people could comprehend how much different between past and nowadays. For the following reasons, I do not agree that the sole function of studying history is to understand people never changes with time.

First of all, with technology progressing, people's life style is totally distinct with the past. There are computers, cell phones, and internet which allow nowadays people to communicate in a disparate way as past. To illustrate, in the past, countries make friends by letters. On the contrary, current days, if a country is bombarded, such as America, it might produce an incentive video online and invite all positive countries to join together to fight with terrorists. The advanced technology offers an efficient way to communicate without barriers.

Secondly, history offer people knowledge to comprehend the past and apply it to anticipate the future. By studying history, people can apprehend information, like what economy strategies would cause depression and help the society return to prosperity. With the aid of the information, people would analyze the current economy and speculate the next step in the market. Furthermore, people could analyze the past events and find out the cause, and then prevent the future disaster which could induce by the same factor in advance.

Admittedly, human basic needs are always the same. Nevertheless, people are so advanced in this era and basic needs are only a part of human life. People obtain more knowledge than past. Contemporary people evaluate love and happiness a lot, which mean nowadays people concern about mental status. Therefore, people are different from the past since they value the mental life more than before. And people understand it by studying the history.

To sum up, even though the basic needs of human beings would not change and sometimes somethings happened and happened again, people still in progress to a higher and better level by the helping from the knowledge of history.