The main benefit of the study of history is to dispel the illusion that people living now are significantly different from people who lived in earlier times.

History, as per the Oxford dictionary, is the study of past events particularly related to human affairs. These are the events which shaped humanity, societies and nations; spanning from the primitive human life to the present net-age. Studying History is therefore, like a travel through time which itself brings many significant outcomes apart from the realization that our predecessors were no different than us.

The statement that studying history would dispel the illusion that our ancestors – presumably homo sapiens - were no different than us finds the support in the fact that the basic human needs, emotions and qualities have always remained the same. Food, shelter and clothing have always been the prime human needs regardless of the time and location. It is for these fundamental needs that humans engaged in hunting, agriculture and trade which still is the main human activity though in an advanced manner. Emotions such as love, empathy, compassion, rage, etc. have always been the same. Social evils such as stealing, murders, assault, sexual violence, female feticide, etc. plaguing the society today were no different in the past. Studying the history of the city of ‘Sodom’ would certainly dispel the illusion that homosexuality is a modern western creation. A review of the history of the scientific and architectural achievements of the Egyptian civilization and the likes would dismiss the misconception that the whites are more intellectually advanced or of superior intelligence than people of colour from the past

However, the statement ignores many other important benefits of studying history. History teaches us what our predecessors have tried and achieved in science, healthcare, international diplomacy, economy, etc. so that we can start over from where they left. For instance, it is upon the historical work of Max Planck, Albert Einstein, etc. that the modern physics’ foundation is built upon. One can learn from history how the problems humans face today were perceived and addressed by the past societies and what were the ultimate results. For example, perusing through the history of the World Wars and the resulting carnage educate us that war can never be a solution to the existing animosities between the nations. Moreover, reading about great leaders and revolutionaries inspires us to stand and fight for the oppressed. Studying the history of our cultural heritage inculcates a sense of pride in our arts, monuments and traditions and propels us to take initiative to preserve them.

Secondly, the statement forgoes the fact that though the early civilizations were similar to the present one in terms of basic needs, qualities and vices; they were strikingly different in their behaviour. Human treatment towards their women, adversaries, animals and environment has continually evolved. Women have more rights than ever; the thought of an organization like PETA for animals was unprecedented in the past; various conventions have been signed to protect prisoners of wars and prevent war crimes; slavery have been formally abolished, and so on. The attitude of people towards customs, literature and religious beliefs have also drastically changed. Iconoclastic views, though a taboo or even a crime in the past, have now been well-taken and healthily debated upon.

In conclusion, though the statement is true that history dispels the illusion that people today are no different than those earlier in their needs, feelings, and intelligence; it fails to acknowledge that the benefits of studying history are manifold and goes beyond dismissing that misconception. Moreover, it fails to recognize that history also informs about the continuous evolution in the human behaviour towards each other and their approach towards traditions and beliefs.