Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through lar

The rise of the internet and mass media has clearly revolutionised the way the public gets its information. Whilst in some aspects this has been a positive change, it is clear that we are still learning to deal with this plethora of information.

It is easy to argue for the advantages of mass media. The fact that people are able to access the news in so many different forms and at any time of the day has undoubtedly increased the average citizen's knowledge of current affairs. Some argue that this collective increase is leading to a more informed society, able to hold its leaders to account more effectively and making more informed decisions on larger political issues such as the economy and foreign policy.

However there is evidence that the reality is not quite so utopian. With an exponentially increasing rate of content creation, it becomes more and more difficult for publishers to fully fact check their articles and makes it easier for others to spread baseless rumours. It is entirely possible that 20-30 years ago Donald Trump's claims about Barack Obama's birthplace would have been immediately stifled by the news corporations of the time. In contrast, in 2008 the rate at which the rumour spread amongst the American public eventually prompted Obama to release his birth certificate.

Another worrying trend fueled by our increasingly digitised news intake is a phenomenon known as the "ideological echo chamber". Sources of bias, be they a slight resistance to a policy or a vehement opposition to a political party, are present in all sources of news media. With people increasingly getting most of their news stories from links on social media, they are limited to reading articles shared by their friends or suggested by various algorithms. In both these cases the stories are likely to come from sources which align with the readers' political viewpoint and also to come from smaller news organisations, more likely to exhibit large biases. This "echo chamber" leads people to drift further and further to their respective left or right wing leading to an increasingly partisan socio-political environment. One only needs to look at the result of Britains' EU referendum, where most who voted to remain (typically the younger, more digital generation) were left in complete shock that the majority of their compatriots did not share their opinion. This year's US presidential election also exhibits this effect, with both parties' candidates setting records for unfavourability.

Although the advancement of technology is generally a benefit to society, it is clear that we have not yet adapted to the swarms of information available to us today. As this flow of stories continues increase we must seek to implement regulations to ensure that our news is more balanced and representative of truth.