Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The overabundance of information caused by the advent of mass media and internet have fundamentally changed the way people interact with information. Instead of spending a long time perusing a single document like people did in the old times, people today are more used to glancing at, and sorting through large piles of sources. Indeed, the change is inevitable and necessary to adopt to the modern society, but the shortening of attention span is nonetheless detrimental.

The enhancement in people's ability to grasp the main topic of material and quickly sort through them is well adapted to the society today. Mass media and the internet have forever changed the way information is shared. In the past, people have access to far less access information. In order to learn about something, they have to visit the library or ask the experts in the field. The scarcity of information forces them to pay attention to the little information they have. They have less information and pay more attention to them. Today, we are inundated by information. In order to find the piece of information we want, we have to quickly look through all the information presented to us, identify their main idea, and decide if they are relevant. Our newly-gained ability to sort through information allows us to take advantage of the abundance of information by helping us find information of higher quality compared to the time the advent of the internet. The ability to grasp the main idea quickly and find useful information is certainly a step forward.

However, the shortened attention span that comes with the ability to sort through information is unarguably deleterious. Because of people's shortened attention span, people today can not understand difficult material, can not perform complex task, can not develop serious ideas. And this negative effect can not be offset by the ability to find useful information. The quality of information is irrelevant if we can not focus on it. Imagine a researcher looking for background information on the topic he or she is investigating. His or her ability to pick out the relevant information helped to find the reading material he or she wanted. However, the inability to focus on the reading for a prolonged time would prevent him or her from truly understanding the material. The effort spent on find the material is wasted. The ability to find information is useless unless people can truly understand the information found. The overall effect will be negative as long as we have trouble focusing.

In conclusion, though the development of the ability to quacking identify useful information is helpful, our shortened attention span will render everything else irrelevant. Because as long we can not focus on the information, it does not matter what information we have. The net effect is undoubtedly negative.