Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

People's attention has lessened due to frequent use of internet, but have made them more effective in finding information which matters. However, when we look at the other side we will realize that decrease in attention spans is more deadly as compared to the good benefits data analysis provides.

Diminishing effect of attention span has a much larger impact when compared to increase in data analysis ability. People addicted to social media though might have learned the ability to analyse and find relevant information, but their decrease in attention period has much more daunting effect on the overall quality of society. A research which was recently published in Times of India gave a positive correlation between probability of having a accident and being an addict to social media. Interestingly the study noted that, a simple honk would make these addicts to get distracted and thus increase the chances of accident. Decrease in attention span has made people's life difficult, they can't make necessary decisions in adequate time which is catastrophic for the society.

People, frequently acquainted with social media have mere tangential ideas about main concerns of society. They don't know the complete story about the facts/news that matter and base their decisions on distorted and incomplete facts. I read a news article that someone shared on Facebook, it suggested that the particle Hydron collider based in Geneva, Switzerland which was due to launch in 2012 could eventually turn the whole earth into a black-hole and people started to object against such an endevour. Protestors conclusion was based on the incomplete and incompetent fact that Mayans calendar ended in 2012. Ability to skim through information can have daunting effect, as people tend to neglect few minute yet necessary details.

To sum it up, while it may be essential to skim down vast variety of information available on internet. However, it is not necessarily advantageous when compared to the bigger problems of diminishing attention spans.