Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the advent of mass media and Internet, there has been a huge increase in the amount of information accessible to a particular person. From news articles about the government's new budget policy, to a recipe involving mushrooms, the internet has all kinds of information available. But, with increase in information, the attention spans of people has become shorter, i.e., it is now difficult to focus on any one specific thing properly, and thus it doesn't produce a positive effect on humans.

In today's world, when people are browsing through the internet, or receiving information through ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.