Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

In the recent years, technological advancements has led to a boom in the social media and internet. The amount of information now available at our fingertips ,be it through our tablets, smartphones, etc, was unimaginable a few years back.

It is true that with the vast array of information now at our disposal, it has become a a necessity that we pick the bit of information that is relevant to us . It has led to improving our skill to search, find and discard information with alacrity.

When you open a social media app, not only will it present you with information about your friends but also news from around the world, be it entertainment,sports or politics. Our knowledge is no more limited to a certain topic. We have become experts in discerning what important and what is not. But do I believe that this makes up for the negative impact it has on our social interaction, our attentiveness or even our health? No.

The vast amount of information that is available to us has made it very easy to divert our attention.For example, people are more interested in browsing through the internet than making dinner table conversation. It has become our escape when put in awkward situations. But this is only hindering our own social development. We can often find people who even while working or attending a meeting are going through their social media accounts .This not only degrades their quality of work but makes a negative impact on their overall mental health where the brain has to cope up with not only the pressure of their work but also the other kinds of emotional stress put on by what they are seeing in their accounts or on the news.

Nowadays we can see people getting addicted to the internet, the constant stream of news that flows in from all areas ,the comments or likes on their social media pages. It puts you in a state where you are always mentally exhausted. So , we need to limit ourselves. Be in touch with the world but also get sometime to just relax.

I believe that there is a requirement to find a balance between the benefits and disadvantages that we get from the social and mass media boom. We need to realize that just its pros are not enough to combat the cons.