Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author posits, with the widespread of the internet and mass media people are able to get surfeit of information, which give flexibility to the people to sort through the large quantities of information and find their penchant towards an particular information in which they are interested.

Nowadays, mass media and the internet shows important news and information in short, subsequently shorting people’s attention span. Also, this helps a large pool of information rather than just focusing on the one and showing that information in a again and again. This help in imbibing a large quantities of information and finding out what is prevalent.

In addition, with the busy and fast moving lifestyle people don't have much time to sit and watch what is going around in world. This problem has solved by the help of internet. As with the advancement in the technology, people are able to get access of things more easily. Let's take an example, if someone is interested in cricket and want to know the score of cricket match, but he or she don't have time to sit and watch the full match, he or she have full plaudits to check the check score on internet whenever he or she is free from his or her job. So, internet give people more flexibility to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important for him or her.

lnshort, an app which gives information and news in short, is a very good example of this advancement. Getting information in short helps us imbibe more information and it is not like that we are not getting the clear picture what is going on, if we want we always have flexibility to go to the internet and find out more about that topic.

In sum, it is rational to say that mass media and internet have help us in enhancing our ability to find what is important through a large pool of information. They have definitely made our life much easier and helped us not to focus more on one thing. The author's conclusion that the overall effect has been positive seems plausible.