"The most effective strategy for a company to use to maintain and increase profits over the long term is to maintain high ethical standards."

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the opinion stated above. Support your views with reasons and/or examples from your own experience, observations or reading.

The statement attempts to bridge a strong positive correlation between maintaining high ethical standard and long term profit for a company. Certainly, having high organization ethics is the best way to achieve long term benefit and that is why I agree and back the statement strongly.

There are several reasons to support the statement and the most important one is that, every company is founded on the basis on some ethos and success largely depends on maintaining those. Business always focuses on long term benefit because short term profit is nothing more than a transient success. Every organization focuses on building long term relationship with it's customer and that can be established only by maintaining strong principles and values. For example, a high end brand builds it's image over years of effort by maintaining it's product quality. So, if in one quarter they focuses on increasing profit by decreasing product quality, it may bring some money initially, but eventually they will lose many of it's loyal customer who preferred quality over price.

In today's world, consumer market is being more complicated day by day. There are myriad of alternative for every product and that is why if anyone fails to meet required standard, they will be thrown away. As today, same product quality can be served by many, company ethics, values are the determining factor to excel in the competition. High environment friendliness, attitude to social problems, employee-organization relationship and many others corporate social responsibilities plays a vital role in determining what company values. So, by being sensitive to these issues along with other primary concerns can make the difference in the long run.

Additionally, employee attitude towards the company largely depends on what company values. If the employee's are nurtured better by the organization than they will pay back by their hard work and diligence. If company values the employees less than it they will not be motivated fully to work diligently and there may be corruption and restive condition. Therefore, if the employee can be literally feel proud to own the company than it will automatically bring success to the organization.

So, to conclude, success & failure of a company largely depends on it's maintenance of ethical standard. Breaking the law can result in profit but that is evanescent, and that is why every organization should focus on maintaining high ethical standard to sustain in today's competitive market.