In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

There are several reasons why knowledge is more important than imagination in most professions and academic fields. Having knowledge is fundamental in the daily operations of a business or university. In addition, having knowledge is important in order to pass down this information to others who can create a more productive environment. Although creativity is important in research and development, having a solid foundation of knowledge is of the utmost importance in most professions and academic fields.

First, businesses operate on a day to day basis by depending on a plethora of departments functioning in an efficient and cohesive manner. In order for the company to remain profitable, individuals must complete the job that they were hired to do. Many of these roles require strong technical expertise, such as developers, accountants, lawyers, and analysts. It would be expected that these employees would have a wealth of knowledge in programming, GAAP principles, laws, and business functions. Similarly, in academia, students rely on their professor’s knowledge of the subject matter in order to learn. It is imperative that professors and corporate workers have strong knowledge in their respective fields. Although creativity is an added bonus in these roles, without knowledge, the business or institution would not be able to operate at all.

Secondly, having knowledge is also important in order to pass down foundational information to others. Since most employees do not stay in the same role for their entire lives, one important aspect of their job is to train another employee to take their place. Knowledge can easily be passed down through seminars, learning sessions, and documentation. Imagination, however, is much more difficult to teach; therefore, a company would not expect a worker to be able to pass this skill down. For an academic role where the primary purpose is to educate others, relaying knowledge to others is of the utmost importance. It would be unfathomable to have a professor only be imaginative and possess no concrete knowledge of their subject matter.

Proponents of the notion that imagination is more important than knowledge cite the impact of research and development of organizations and academia. Without innovation, a company or university is likely to fall behind its competitors and possibly fade away. In fact, in the Bay Area, many tech companies must develop creative solutions to new problems, or run the risk of being taken over by newer companies. One can easily think of Blockbuster being taken over by Netflix or taxis being replaced by Uber. However, many companies retain a specialized research and development team, comprising of only a few members of the organization. This team’s goal is solely to be innovative, while the majority of the company is performing day to day tasks to keep the lights on. The primary focus of the organization is still on its existing knowledge, because without any knowledge, the company would be in a state of disarray almost immediately, whereas a lack of imagination can be accounted for through other means such as buying out competitors.

In conclusion, knowledge is more important in innovation in most professional and academic fields. The importance of performing fundamental daily tasks and to pass this knowledge onto others takes precedence over innovation through research and development in terms of viability for the organization. Given the aforementioned reasons, knowledge is more important than imagination in most professional and academic fields.