In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Essay topics

Albert Einstein once said “Imagination is greater than knowledge. For knowledge is limited to all we know and understand, while the imagination embraces the entire world, and all the will be to know and understand”. The author in the prompt assumes that imagination is highly significant than knowledge in the ambit of most profession and academic. I agree with the claim. Imagination allows us to invent and to make discoveries. Imagination provides inspiration to pursue our dreams. Knowledge is undeniably important, but it also allows constraint in our imagination.

Greater discoveries and inventions from prehistoric times to modern times have occurred by the aid of imagination. Imagination allows us to be creative, and that creation to be manifested in the real world. For instance, in the prehistoric times, how the man came out of their cage and made artificial homes. Their minds have imagined something that can be built from the surrounding material so they don’t have to continue for searching for the caves. Nowadays, it is the imagination of the astronaut and engineer, to make the rocket capable of going to the alien planet, which was considered infeasible in ancient times on the basis of their knowledge. Thus, for the advancement of the modern world, imagination is a supreme entity.

Imagination allows us to pursue our dream and be successful. Without it, we can only be a pedant, adhering to the precept and laws that are already provided to us. With imagination, people can invent various novel things which are required for their career. For example, if someone wants to be a poet, singer or writer, his imagination power should be fecund and good, so he can articulate his imagination to the people. For an architect, his/her imagination towards building should be fertile. Consequently, in order to achieve apex of career, imagination plays a vital role.

It is undeniable that the knowledge is also a powerful entity for the professional and academic success. Knowledge gives the basic insights of the nature of things. However, knowledge can restrain our mind by inculcating certain information which may be wrong that make us difficult to extirpate from its effect. You can take example of law of conservation of energy: Energy can be converted to one form to another, and no other things can make energy. However, when I came to knew about Einstein theory where mas can be converted to energy, at first, I was agnostic about his formulae. Therefore, like Einstein said, knowledge is limited to all about the universe.

In conclusion, people should basically focus on imagination rather than knowledge as from the ancient times' imagination has played a pivotal role in the advancement of the world, and also helps to reach eminence of our career. Further, knowledge limits our thinking, making an obstacle in our imagination capacity.