A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The issue in hand states that all the schools in a nation should follow a general similar curriculum without any modification or change. Many may think that this is an effective way to teach students. However, in my view, it is not always beneficial. There are different factors which should be considered while deciding a curriculum.

To start with, the students are said to follow a general curriculum without any solid data on different factors that may affect student's thinking and their choices. The family background, the environment in which they grew up, and many other factors are there that may affect a student's choices deeply. For example, if a child's dad is a mechanic, he must have taken him to work sometimes and told him about how the stuff works. The interactions with new things like this can affect the children's mindset in a tremendous way. This thing should be taken into account.

Secondly, everybody is different. No two individuals are same, even if they are twins. All individuals have different ability to perceive things. All have a different mindset and the ability to process information differs widely. Based on these factors, how can any two students necessarily have same interests? The curriculum should have different choices for different students.

Moreover, based on the above facts, the subjects to which student has less inclination can affect his grades. Grades are a measure of a student's ability in the subject and that field. If a student is not inclined towards that subject, that may lead to bad grades in that subject. Which can eventually demotivate them and they can get under pressure, which can affect their whole career.

On the other hand, having a same national curriculum can be effective too. Given that, the subjects in the general curriculum are general and gives the students much-needed skills in their everyday life. It also gives students opportunity to interact with different subjects, and that may eventually lead to generation of new interests in students, which can benefit them in their lives.

So, to conclude, the reasons and examples above substantiate my opinion about the issue that a general curriculum is not always beneficial for the students and could lead to demotivating students. However, if necessary changes are made, it can be beneficial and can lead to even better results.