A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

When all students are on the same playing field, it promotes countless opportunities for everyone involved.

Across the nation, there are thousands of disparate curriculums. The differences are due to different types of schools: public, private, home-schooled, religious and much more. As these student develop their education, it is obvious how different their knowledge path will be. Some students may be more advance or below the requirements when compare to others because of the type of education they received. Nonetheless with the same curriculum requirements implented across all schools, all (most) students will be up to par with each other. With this in mind, the government would be able to provide more education research to better the curriculum overtime and enforce each and every school to meet these requirements. Everyone will be able to start college academicly prepared since they all maintain the same foundations. Students will find that they have an equal opportunity when they apply college since everyone is at the same level. No student should feel disadvantage from attending a public school because their parents were not able to pay for the advanced preparations of a private sector. Enforcing the same plan across the nation will allow students to propser with equal opportunities.

It is not uncommon for families to move across cities, counties and states while students are in kindergartan to senior of high school. I have switched schools twice during elementary and highschool. The transition was difficult at first because it was during the school year and I found myself lost when entering the new class. I believe that many other students feel the same way when they are forced to change schools due to outside circumstances. With the same national curriculum, students will easily adapt to their new envirnments. It will not hinder their progress because they will be picking up where they last left off at their previous school. The move is already stressful enough for a child or teenager so it would help acclimate them if they have some familiarility.

Although there are nemurous examples of positive outcomes with the same national curriculum, this may also led to problems. The decisions will come from the goverment and it will be more difficult for schools, teachers and parents to ask for a type of course to be added. It could end up being extremely restrictive and the government may take away courses required for a more holistic education. Teachers, schools districts, and parents might find difficulty fighting for a better education.

When we compare two schools at random, there program that are taught may be entirely different. These schools can be in the same or in two different states. A national curriculum will promote better academic opportunities for everyone involved, not just the students.