A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Curriculum of school plays an important role in shaping a person’s career and life. To a certain extent I disagree with the statement because not all students are same and different students have different goals and aspirations in life.

Students in high school want to explore the options they have to build their career and search for the field which they like. They should get options to choose their subjects and explore them. Different students have different aptitude and interests. For example if a student is interested in computers and wants to become a computer engineer, if he has to compulsorily study music which he is not interested in and would not make a difference in his career he would be wasting time studying for it. Instead he could use the time in learning a new computer language or making a new application. Of course extra-curricular activities are important and play an important role in a student’s over all development, the students should be given electives and can choose their subjects.

Students should definitely be introduced to all subjects but should be left to select advance topics in those subjects. An introduction to the subject is given so the students would get to know which subjects they are interested in and would like to study. If a student is good at music and wants to build a career in music and he is compelled to study biology, it is possible that because he is unable to get good grades in biology he might not get into a good music college and it could ruin his career. Just because of one subject which would eventually have no effect on his life if he became a musician, his grades would suffer and his life at whole also. Students in high school are old enough to understand the seriousness and choose the subjects they would like to study and build their career on.

Until high school there should be a fixed curriculum because students need to be introduced to all subjects. But in high school students should be able to select their subjects after guidance from teachers and counselors. This would also instill responsibilities in students as they would have to choose their subjects and they would start thinking about their career. If a student is not sure what he wants to do in his life, he could take a few electives and after exploring he would get to know his aptitude and in which field he would like to work.

By offering a flexible course to students and letting the students decide their subjects would help students in building their career and making them more responsible. So a nation should not require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.