A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It has always been a matter of debate whether a nation needs to adopt a uniform national curriculum for all its students until they enter college. A common curriculum offers several advantages and its advocates base their view on such benefits. However, it does come with certain problems and issues with practicality.

A common curriculum enforces easier drafting of education materials like textbooks. Since students of the whole nation have studied the same subjects and the contents, it would be less difficult to gauge and compare the academic performance of students with one other and also aid in having a more transparent admission procedures for colleges. Propenents of the recommendation would likely believe that it is essential for a child to learn certain basic aspects of mathematics, sciences and language in the schooling age and shouldn't necessarily be given the option of choosing subjects to study. After all, how can someone at such a young age decide what they want to pursue and thus choose to ignore certain subjects? Adopting the recommendation also eliminates the issue of poor quality of education at backward regions of a country by ensuring that even they follow the more standard curriculum prepared by acknowledged authorities at the national level.

However, it is wrong to assume that a student wouldn't have the intelligence to decide what subjects to study and what to not until he/she reaches college. Once the student reaches a certain age of maturity before college-going age, he/she can reasonably figure out where his/her passion lies and then move forward by studying with more focus on related subjects. In such a scenario, it would be a waste of time and energy to learn certain unrelated subjects that are being forced into the classes by the national curriculum. Not every student would be interested in learning all the subjects prescribed by the curriculum. Imagine a student who at the age of say 12, figures out that he would like to learn more about the arts and literature. It wouldn't be favourable for him if a common curriculum was adopted and thus he is offered no choice but to study more of science and mathematics.

The recommendation also comes with other issues. Often in many countries, there is a lot of diversity in terms of language and culture. A commmon curriculum would then fail to do justice to this diversity. It would be better if the curriculum is left to be drafted by local authorities who can include more of the local language and the local history. This is especially relevant in a country like India with hundreds of languages and cultures. If a nation-wide curriculum was adopted, the students would never learn their own languages and the history of their region and as a result, the local culture and language would slowly phase out of existence. A local curriculum is essential for the preservance of the rich culture of a nation.

In conclusion, though the recommendation has certain benefits, the problems cannot be ignored. An ideal solution would be to have a common curriculum for subjects like sciences and mathematics which are quite universal in nature and leave the languages, art and history curriculum to be prepared by local bodies. Also, once a child reaches a certain level of schooling, he/she should be granted the liberty to choose his/her subjects and pursue his/her interests.