A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It depends upon the variety in regions covered by any country that determine the subjects that should be thought at schools. No nation can afford the repercussions of homogenizing curriculum to the one that does not account for versatility rife in culture. Additionally, there are several benefits of having a uniform education system. To get the best of both worlds one can suggest that a conditional approach should be taken into consideration, that also addresses the interest of students. Further discussion is on the pros and cons of both approaches and what can be done to achieve and ideal solution.

To begin with, uniform curriculum promises that an egalitarian system is established for further admissions into universities and colleges. This guarantees equal grounds for competition. More over the problem with students who had to migrate from their state will be resolved. Performance evaluation of any two students from different parts of countries will be more fruitful. Take for an example, Finland, the country recently implemented this approach to ensure that same education is provided to every child in the nation.

However, the uniform education system might fail in vast countries like China and India and middle eastern nations, these countries are rife with discreet cultures and have varied milieu. No state is similar to another. Therefore, having a curriculum which educates general knowledge of regional language, religion and history becomes a necessity in these states. Take for an example India. As India has more than 10 regional languages,which vary form state to state, students need to learn the grammar and language spoken in their states.

On the other hand, a curriculum that suggests uniformity of core subjects like science, maths and arts and gives options to choose from localized subjects like language and agriculture, solves the problem from both schools of approaches. When it comes to analogy, these students can be evaluated on basis of their scores in core subjects only, thus they can freely opt for studies of regional programs that interest them and never stay behind of students from other states.

Conclusively, uniform education has its own benefits and heterogeneous societies have there own requirements. Therefore a solution that addresses both issues should be provided to students for their betterment.