A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education as one of the most important goals of a nation offers the necessary knowledge for students to not only fit in the society and pursue better careers in their life but also realize the mechanism underlying the world as well as the ability to think for themselves. Through the standard uniform national education strategy, schools are capable of evaluating the performance of every student on the same basis. However, it seems that, instead of enlightening the curiosity of students toward this world, most education systems failed as a giant filter factory, encouraging competition of teenagers, selecting the elites, and filtering out those with poor grades.

Undeniable, by setting the standard, it is fair for every students. For example, back in old history, the statue of people was given when they got born, and education was a luxury product made for the aristocracy. Therefore, the social hierarchy was unlikely to change as such, the poor would remain poor no matter how. Fairness creates more chances for people to reverse their social statue by studying hard. Nevertheless, this kind of fairness intrinsically creates a battle field for students to compete with one another in order to pursue higher grades. For instance, in Taiwan, after school, most of students usually go to cram school for exactly the same courses in hope of getting perfect scores in the university entrance exam. Students study not base on their interest but only for the exam. As a result, most people go into colleges yet lose any interest in study. The environment is fair, but insalubrious and aberrant.

The other fatal mistake of the national curriculum is that the amounts of subjects are limited. For example, in Taiwan, schools only offers few varieties of courses, and evaluate every students based on this few topics. Unable to know the ability of students beyond subjects in schools, such as dancing, music, philosophy, art, and so on, schools fail to give comprehensive judgment. The national curriculum doesn’t give equal respect to some other subjects which may be just as important as those taught in school.

In conclusion, the national curriculum is fair for offering every students to receive the same education and equal chances to get into university. But because of its uniformed standard, the education become twisted and lose its inchoate meaning in encouraging students to pursue their dream. In addition, the education fail to give integrated evaluation of students, it’s unfair in this sense that some abilities are over addressed than others.