A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

Since the very beginning of mankind, education has been an imperative tool which has guided the course of mankind until now, and would continue to do so. The author states that the a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. But author's claim seems to be too extreme to have any tangible benefits on our society. Though I agree with the author partially, but there are many circumstances which must be taken into account before assessing the feasibility of this issue.

Firstly, the very foundation of our existence has been diversity. No human has the same capabilities and we must acknowledge the fact that every other person is good in some ways or the other. In such a scenario, imposing the same national curriculum on every student would itself be a threat to diversity, which would ultimately prove to be debilitating for any nation. For example, consider a two school, one who's admission process favors students adept in sports, the other values academic performance over sports. If the same national curriculum is imposed on both the schools, then it would straight away impede the ability of either of the schools to educate students, as it may not allow for either of the extremes.

Secondly, every child has his desires and wishes, and ultimately has the freedom to select the courses of his choice. In such a case, if he is forced to follow an academic curriculum designed by the educational authorities, it would certainly harm the development of the child as he won't be able to pursue his dreams. Since the right to freedom is constitutionally guaranteed, imposing a curriculum on a child would not be fundamentally correct either.

But, there are some scenarios where such a move is critical. A national curriculum should be designed in such a way that it allows for selecting subjects based on a students desire, while mandating a few core subjects which are crucial in today's world. For example, if a curriculum requires a student to study 5 subjects, then it must be designed in such a way that core subjects like mathematics and language must be made compulsory for all the students, at the same time allowing them to select the remaining 3 subjects based on their choice. Such a scenario would guarantee freedom of choice, encourage diversity and at the same time promote integrity and homogeneity.

Hence, we can conclude that author's stand is very extreme which is not practically feasible in today's highly diverse world. A curriculum should rather be designed in such a way which mandates the study of core subjects, while allowing enough freedom to students to choose a few subjects according to their choice. Such a curriculum should hence ensure freedom of choice and would make sure that curriculum are compatible with every educational institution that has to adopt it.