"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

This topic of a same standard curriculum has been a case of constant point of discussion in the major educational reforms in the past decade. Not only do I have concerns about its implications for our students, but also the mindset of the authority setting up such a rule. I believe having a stringent curriculum for all the students will do more harm than not, and hence I disagree with the stand of having the same national curriculum for the students until they enter college. It is not only against the process of learning but also, against the essence of teaching.

The basic point sending a person to school is to make them educated, not to make them trained as done in military academies. This means unlike in military, where we need to produce the same kind of efficient soldier meant for only one task, we need school to recognize the individualistic property of a student. We need to identify them, nurture those qualities and provide a teaching curriculum which will enhance this. A standard national curriculum will not provide the flexibility of having such an individual plan as it will be more centric towards the mass. Consequently, the students will miss out the deserved opportunity of identifying their true selfs and the purpose of teaching won't be served.

Apart from this, it is clearly understood that a national curriculum will not address the issues of regions the students belong to. They would be largely focussed on things that will only be address when the whole nation comes into the picture. This makes the student ignorant of their origin, their core values. The nation cannot be built as a whole until its parts are developed properly. This can only happen when the curriculum is region specific rather than having a curriculum of national importance.

I understand that a standard national curriculum will bring uniformity to the education system. But this can be done at a regional level as well. a certain core curriculum can be given to the regional committees for making the curriculum and then, a specific curriculum can be built around it, hence incorporating all the necessary points of national curriculum without ignoring the regional values. Also, having the same national curriculum is said to invoke a sense of patriotism and unity among the citizens.