A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Some people think that it is obligatory that all the students study the same national curriculum at school. On the contrary, other people claim that a nation should not require students to study the same subjects and should let pupils make their study plan. Undoubtedly, the statement given is rather controversial. However, a closer examination reveals, that the same national curriculum brings more benefits for students than a free study plan.

To begin with, a school is the first step to a real life. It is undeniable fact that people face many problems during their lives, so they should be ready for everything and be aware of how to resolve any given problem. The same national curriculum is created and developed by qualified experts that know much about education and have a great life experience. So it is highly possible that the study plan, which is implemented by the government, would be a great start for students to get a knowledge about every sphere of their lives. If students are allowed to make their own study plan, they will probably choose homogeneous courses that will relate to one subject. For instance, a person who is interested in mathematics will choose mathematical courses, such as algebra, geometry, physics, IT. However, he will have a lack of knowledge in other important subjects such as literature and geography. It may be unnecessary considering student's future profession; however, he will be a boring person who doesn't have essential knowledge on general things. Would it be interesting to talk to such a person? I assume that the answer is 'no.' That's why it is more reasonable to implement a standard curriculum so that all students could widen their knowledge on many subjects.

Secondly, a national curriculum will make competition fairer. It is widely known that nowadays university admissions are highly competitive. Universities have to make a decision based on candidates' academic performance. However, it would be much more complicated to evaluate person's ability in comparison to others if he had another range of subjects. Having a national curriculum will let to estimate students' performance way better. Moreover, pupils will have a greater motivation to work hard so they could be admitted to a dream university.

Of course, a free study plan has some benefits, too. A student will have a possibility to concentrate on target subjects that he/she is more interested in. That approach will lead to a better knowledge of a student's area of studies when he starts college. As a result, colleges will be able to exclude some redundant information (for instance, elementary things) and pay more attention to more complicated topics that could be necessary for a future specialist. However, as I have written above, students with a free study plan may lack a basic knowledge in other areas of their lives.

Finally, the same national curriculum will give students an opportunity to understand what they want to study in the future. It is particularly complicated to make a right choice at such a young age. Having a possibility to try studying many subjects will help pupils to comprehend which area of studies attracts they mostly. That's a great reason why it is necessary to study a wide range of courses.

Once there are arguments to be made for both points of view, it is clear that national curriculum is way better for students. They will have a possibility to widen their knowledge on all the subjects and to understand what they want to do in their future lives.