A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The most common question we ask children tends to be, "What do you want to be when you grow up?" with "firefighter," "astronaut," or "president" being the answer. Because of the bright imagination and innocence being young brings, the answer to that question is often unrealistic or comes without knowledge of qualifications of that position, and the workload that subsequently follows entering that feild. However, once a child is exposed to more subjects and ideas, their answer changes. By providing each student nation-wide a well-rounded curriculum until college, maturity to descern what field the student wishes to enter, and a sense of being more able to connect to others in other fields is gained.

While knowing everything about your intended job may seem most important, being well-rounded will bring more knowledge than being narrow-sighted. By expanding horizons past a particular trade, we are able to combine ideas and bring new advances to society. For example, while medical physicians know most about how the body moves and works, they may not be as knowledgable as an engineer. That same engineer who better understands physics and mechanics, may not understand the exact functionality of how the muscles, joints, and tendons in a hand work. By combining their knowledge, and each being aware of each other's job from school curriculum, they were able to create a prothsetic that is able to move and work as a human hand should.

This partnership may not have worked as well if one professional thought his job was more important than the other due to ignorance of the complexity of each position. Friendships are formed through similar ideas and connections, as well as respect for each individual's ideas and opinions. When students are given the opportunity to learn a little about everything the world has to offer, a deep respect is gained for their peers that chose another path. Just because your friend does a different job, doesn't mean they do not work just as hard as you. Knowing what a doctor does will instill respect because they have worked hard to be where they are.

Although many children will answer "doctor" to the question, very few will actually achieve this goal because they have not learned enough about the world to understand what that entails. A national curriculum until college including information about different jobs will give students the growth and knowledge they need to make an informed decision on wat they want to be. Deciding even earlier than eighteen what you want to do with your life is a lot of pressure, and if the student chooses wrong, they may be stuck in a position that they do not want to be in.

Giving students eighteen years gives the opportunity to becom well-rounded, well-connected, and happier people in the future. Prosperity is dependent on what the generation before them does, and if those people are not cooperative and happy, the future will also not be a very enjoyable place to live.