A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Almost every one undergoes a marathon from primary school to high school and is required to learn some nation curriculums such as Math, History, English, etc. We may regard this phenomenon as a very natural process. However, when we take a closer look at it to argue whether it is valid, a more careful consideration should be made before any hasty conclusion.

First of all, the nation has the responsibility to list basic courses for high school to follow. It is because students will be equipped with fundamental knowledge and capabilities essential for one to survive and thrive through this way. Math, for instance, created and tested for a long time by our ancestors, facilitate the establishment of cognitive skills and logical thinking abilities which enables students to think critically and form rigorous thought when confronted with a dilemma. Despite dismissed by some parents and students now art, in fact, trains us to concentrate on details and pay more attention to our environment. Art also provides a distraction, giving us an opportunity to unwind and be prepared for next taxing work.

In addition, the unified national curriculums offer students from different part of the nation similar chances to receive a high quality of education. Compulsory national courses are often combined with support from the local government since officials understand not all schools have enough capabilities and budgets to meet the requirement. As a result, mandatory nation curriculum can reduce the gap between students living in poor regions and those obtaining better educational resources before stepping into the university. After going to the university, students will be glad to find that they are in a similar level due to the similar course design. Less frustration and jealousy will bother students, and more convenient are professors when preparing for their class. Consequently, students and schools all regard consistent courses as a valuable feature.

However, the national curriculum's list should be treated just as a baseline instead of an obstacle hindering schools under different conditions to design specific courses for their students. If every school limits to the obligatory national courses and ignore their unique characteristics and strengths, students, the final victims, will find it hard to distinguish themselves with others and compete with each other in a fiercer way. Schools, located in the area with special culture and custom, should also open some courses to educate students about their tradition, such as local language or local culture introduction. Therefore, except for those national courses, the government are responsible to encourage local schools to open their own courses based on local culture and their students' interest.

To conclude, national curriculums own many merits for students, teachers, and schools. However, it is the beginning, not the end. High schools have the obligation to dig deep into students’ hobby and interests and then offer some elective courses to facilitate students’ well-roundness and uniqueness. Educational institutions with special culture are responsible to promote their own customs as well, by opening culture-oriented courses.