A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education is of utmost importance for any individual. In lieu of this, every nation should have a sound educational structure in place. A structure which takes into account the different characteristics of students. In general, no two students have the same learning capability or grasping power. Every student is unique in his own right. Hence, I disagree with the recommendation which requires all students to study under the same curriculum.

Firstly, if the same curriculum has to be followed in every school, a common curriculum has to be developed which is neither too easy nor too difficult for students. Having an average level curriculum in place is detrimental to students who are at either extremes-the ones who are smarter and sharper than the average student will not be able to utilize their minds to the highest potential and the ones who are weaker than other students in academics will inevitably struggle to keep up with the rest of the class.

Secondly, a common curriculum in place would mean that each student studies the same subjects. In this case, a country with a large diversity of culture and language, would stand to lose its diversity of language and culture, for all students would now study and learn the same subject, making the nation devoid of any cultural diversity among students. A country like India would suffer considerably, because it is known for its diverse culture and language among different states.

Also, a standardized curriculum would mean that every school in every city will need to have the same infrastructure for such a proposal to be successful. However, in most developing countries there exists a huge gap among cities, in terms of the infrastructure, or the quality of teachers available. For instance, cities like New Delhi and Noida are close in terms of distance, but miles apart metaphorically. Further, there exists the problem of shelling out the same amount of fee for the curriculum. As the cities have significant differences in per capita incomes, it will be difficult for students of all cities to shell out the same amount of money as fees.

Although there are a few benefits of implementing such an idea, such as same level for all students, no discrimination between students, and equal opportunities for all, I personally believe that such a model will find little success in most countries and hence it should not be implemented..