A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Essay topics in audio

While acknowledging that the implementation of such recommendation can cause some disruption under some circumstances, I still agree that the recommendation should be adopted. Reason for saying so is elucidated in the points below.

To buttress my point, let’s take analysis of three elementary school student in same society or country. The first person offered total of 20 subjects throughout his elementary school with vocational studies excluded, the second person offered total of 18 subject with quantitative reasoning excluded and finally the third person offered total of 23 subjects with verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning and vocational studies included. Imagine a scenario where by these pupils want to enter high school and needs to write a national standardized exam for all elementary students aiming to enter high school. Suppose the exam comprises of subjects which includes vocational studies, critical writing and verbal reasoning; without much thought, one can estimate the fate of those students. Obviously, in course of the exam, the first two students have high probability of finding the exam difficult whereas the third person has high chances of tackling the problem with ease. Consequently, the first two pupils will perform poorly. One question that needs to be answered is, who should be held culpable for the pupils’ failure in the exam? Should it be the schools, the pupil or the government? For me I will choose the latter. That is the government.

Admittedly, I would have love to choose the schools rather than the government, reason been that the school derailed by not preparing the pupils adequately for the standardized exam. But how can schools with different idiosyncrasies and objectives teach same course? Take for example, in Nigeria we have American schools. These schools rather than use normal curriculum found in most Nigerian elementary and high school, use American curriculum. Such schools end up preparing the high school students to take SAT- their own country’s- standard exam for all aiming to enter the university, neglecting to prepare them for JAMB, which is the standardized exam for Nigerians students aiming for Nigerian university. In reality, not all the student that went to the American school will have enough finance to progress to the university. If such students end up passing SAT, but fails JAMB, what’s the point? Hence, in order to reconcile the differences in teaching focus, it is in the jurisdiction of the government to create a standard by creating a national curriculum whereby every school -be it kindergarten, elementary or high school- have a recognized subject which are to be offered at each level. By so doing, the government promotes and strengthen standard in the education system. Additionally, when students offer the same curriculum, there performance can easily be graded. Referring back to the hypothetical students mentioned earlier in this essay, assume they offered all the subjects and undergo the standardized exam, it will be a better reflection of each student’s capacity. There is every tendency that those two student that failed previously might pass.

However, critiques might argue that adopting such recommendation will lead to infringement in the autonomy of schools especially the “unique school” which specific objective or certain idiosyncrasies propels their existence. The rigidness of the national curriculum- if it against such school- might strangle them to death. Take for instance Christian school. The objective of such religious school majorly is to raise God fearing students that will make Christ the center of their lifes. Hence their focus will be more on morals. Hence subjects such as Christian religious knowledge (CRK) and Moral instruction are there key subject. Suppose in course of trying to create a national curriculum, CRK is scrapped, of what essence is the existence of the school afterwards, when its main objective has been defeated? Furthermore, imagine an Islamic school who gets deprived of teaching Islamic Religious Studies (IRS) and Arabic language because it’s not included in the national curriculum. Hasn’t she lost her essence? Of course yes.

Nevertheless, some government eg Nigeria who have adopted a general curriculum are judicious while creating national curriculum. They make efforts to ensure that courses in the national curriculum does not totally undermine the essence of the unique schools. This is achieved by giving the students the option of electives for the standardized exams. For instance, a high school student in an Islamic school can choose to write IRS in Senior Secondary Certificate Exam (SSCE) -exam compulsory for all student aiming for the tertiary institution- and another high school student in a Christian missionary school can choose to write CRK.

In conclusion, creating national curriculum provides avenue for government to constantly monitor the academic learning of students. Also, it creates a standard for measuring all students-at any level- their IQ and level of understanding, hence promoting fairness.