Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

“The poetry of the Earth,” John Keats wrote, “is never dead.” Nature is invigorating. Although, after an unprecedented growth of technology, people now spend more time staring at their smartphones for lounging, one’s love for nature is always extant. Visiting a lake, spending time at the park, backpacking through the forests, or trekking let us escape from our mundane lives. Nature gives us spiritual, and aesthetic satisfaction. In addition to recreation and inspiration, the natural world purifies the air we breathe; habitats the flora and the fauna; provides food for the poorer communities. While safeguarding the wild is, in numerous ways, beneficial to us, it’s depletion, by extensively clearing forest land for agriculture, for industries, makes our lives difficult.

Nations, across the world, have passed wilderness and national park acts that protect the wild areas by prohibiting the intervention of humans. These laws, I believe, are of great importance not only to mankind but to the survival of the plant and animal life.

Carbon dioxide content has ballooned over the last 20 years. Plants and trees purify the air we breathe by taking in carbon dioxide and giving out oxygen. The growth of industries, human population, and the depletion of forest area being indirectly proportional to each other has surged the amount of CO2. Moreover, carbon dioxide being a greenhouse, there are indirect effects on humans due to global warming.

Who is to blame for the extinction of passenger pigeons, or for the endangerment of Orangutans and elephants due to palm plantations? Clearing forests for plantations, for setting up industries, and for building homes has reduced the habitat for animals because they have no shelter and have a food crisis. One might wonder if they don’t have any knowledge of the ecosystems, that what could possibly go wrong if birds cannot build their nests in the trees. What’s the big deal? Everything on this planet is interconnected. The flora and the fauna work not individually, but together. Consider the case of vultures. They act as scavengers and consume carcasses, garbage, etc. In India, vultures extinction has resulted in the rise of rats and wild dogs that spread numerous diseases, and according to Wikipedia, as of 2015, the estimated cost for treating people affected with rabies and many such diseases was 25 billion U.S dollars. Diclofenac, being one of the reasons that vanished vultures, loss of habitat for vultures cannot be ignored.

What do we get from National Parks? Huge amounts of money—hundreds of billions of dollars— in the form of taxes. Through tourism, countries generate gargantuan amounts of money from the preservation of wilderness areas. Also, Wilderness areas require many men and women for their maintenance. Therefore, the wild provides employment—millions of jobs— to many citizens of the country.

Natives of Alaska, for instance, depend on wilderness for their food and water. Despite Alaska being abundant in its wilderness fears the intervention of oil and timber industries. What goes for Alaska also goes for many other indigenous people, or tribes, of Africa and Asia. Setting up industries for making money at the cost of the poor lives is inhuman.

Putting aside the commercial gain we can obtain from turning the wilderness into industries, there is more harm than good by destroying nature. All in all, wilderness areas must be given substantial importance for what they offer when they are preserved, and what they negatively offer when they are depleted.