Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Art has significant benefits in many areas, including the nation’s cultural identity and economic development. On the other hand, depending on local particular condition, the limited government funding should be primarily used urgent issues. However, even in such condition, the government funding should not be suspended completely. Thus, I disagree with the recommendation.

Art itself is one area of economics. Some arts such as theme parks, stage performances, museums, monuments, and sculpture attracts both tourists and local people. These are products in terms of economics and being consumed. In addition, people spend millions of dollars in movies, music, and designer handbags. Arts include more than one simply think of and creating a great deal of taxes and jobs. Moreover, arts boost imagination and creativity in people and thereby help individuals and companies compete with vitals. Adverting and marketing are two of the fields which largely rely on the ability of creativity enhanced by arts. If a nation suspends the government funding of arts, it will surely hamper its advancement, which could result in the loss of abundant taxes and job opportunities.

Additionally, government funding arts is required by the cultural necessity. Government funding helps preserve the legacies of arts, which helps people to appreciate their history and identities. For example, the museums, with civil war and Abraham Lincoln as the theme, display that American people are steadfast on defending the nation’s unity and fighting for protecting human rights. Moreover, arts carry the values of a nation and affect the attitudes of other nations towards it. For example, the Statue of Liberty symbolizes that the United States is a free country and respects human rights, which wins people’s respect and yearn. If a nation does what the recommend suggests, it will diminish the cultural power that arts carries domestically and internationally.

On the other hand, the specific allocation of the government funding may vary depending on the local condition. Surely, people’s right of living should be prior to the development of arts. In some particular regions where the local economic conditions are particularly bad and many people struggle for a living. Considering that government funding is limited, it should be primarily used to meet people’s most urgent and basic needs. The government funding of arts can temporarily give way to more vital areas in these particular regions. Nevertheless, considering a healthy society needs both material and spiritual development, government funding of arts must be sustained nationwide.

In conclusion, considering the benefits that arts provide, a nation should not stop funding arts. On the other hand, in some particular regions, many people still struggle for a living. In this case, the government funding should be focused on the basic needs of people and temporarily suspend the funding of arts only in certain regions. Hence, the recommendation is only reasonable in certain cases and not applicable nationwide.