Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement suggests that nations should stop funding arts when some of their citizens are hungry or unemployed. However, the government funding for arts, which helps arts flourish, does not threaten the economic condition; yet, it promotes the overall employment situation. Nations should therefore not cease to fund arts.

Many people currently work in the art-related fields. Arts have many forms such as movies, museums, music, literature, stage performances, and many others. A considerable number of people are employed in these areas such as movie staff, actors, and artists. These people can keep their job only if arts are prosperous, which is largely dependent on government funding. If adopting the recommendation, arts will dwindle, and subsequently a significant number of people will lose their jobs. Therefore, nations should not stop funding to make the already existing unemployment worse

To continue, arts inspire creativities and therefore promote the overall success of a nation’s economy which consequently help increase employment market. Arts are ubiquitous in the economic world such as advertising, construction, and home goods. For examples, virtually every company is trying to advertise their products by creating the most captivating images, which relates to art. With companies grow, the overall economy, which will then increase employment opportunities. If adopting the policy, the economy will be deprived of a major source of creativity, arts, which will cause the job market to decline. Hence, it is necessary for a nation to keep funding arts so as to bolster the overall economy and the job market.

In addition, people have the rights and needs to enjoy the work of arts. Admittedly, many people are hungry in virtually every country. Still, the majority of people are working and paying taxes and need all kinds of arts for entertainment and empowerment. It is not right for a nation to suspend funding for arts, diminish their advancement, and violate people’s needs. This is especially true for those low-income workers as they often rely on free access to arts. If adopting the policy, many art events would not be free, leaving many citizens to miss opportunities of enjoying a more colorful and nourishment life. Therefore, though a number of people are unemployed, a nation should not suspend funding for arts.

In conclusion, a nation should never stop looking at different ways to solve its unemployment issue; nevertheless, suspending government funding for arts is not one of them.