No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author of this issue believe that no field of study can improve significantly unless it incorporate knowledge and experience from outside that field. In my humble view, it is undeniably true that blending with knowledge from external disciplines could promote our achievement in our research field. However, this doesn't mean that such approach could be applied for all of cases. It is also worth to point out that the efficiency of such approach actually depends on various factors.

To start off, as increasingly closer collaboration with diverse discipline, incorporating knowledge and experience from outside fields could promote deep insights by inspiring innovative ideas and leveraging extra tools. On one hand, combination of knowledge from extra fields could stimulate us to transform practice or theorem from one field to another, because their potential relationship of methodologies provide foundation of such probability. Additionally, some fundamental disciplines are capable of providing us with advanced diagnosis tools, which allow us to explore our own field in more profound level. For supporting example, we can no further go for marriage between mathematics and computer science. By melding with powerful tools in calculus and probabilistic model in statistics, scientists have created a spate of brand-new algorithm models and applied them for many practical issues in artificial intelligence, a sub-branch of computer science. Without such imaginatively cross-boundary applications, we can't even imagine today's bloom of deep learning in artificial intelligence.

Despite the aforementioned advantages, I have to contend that this strategy isn't a panacea for all fields. In this first place, not all of fields are close relevance with each other as much as the aforementioned case in mathematics and computer science. Because many disciplines, especially between literature and logical reasoning, couldn't share their methodologies. Therefore, it is a kind of whims for us to transport knowledge in one field to other. Moreover, even if it is, blind reference without understanding the exact restriction or application scenario might lead to severely detrimental results. For instance, we can't apply writing skills of literature into an algorithm models of computer science as their impassible methodological gulf. Similarly, if one don't comprehend with fixed point theorem in mathematics, but tries to naively utilize it in Reinforcement Learning model, the ultimate results doom to fail.

Furthermore, the author's over-optimistic could be betrayed in the statement, which implies that great accomplishment merely hinges on external experience. Unfortunately, such assumption is problematic and doesn't always hold true. Any significant achievement in existing fields, especially for fundamental fields, is actually much more complexity, since many factors would impact inevitably with such outgrowth. As is often case, such accomplishment is subject to determination of national leaders, sufficient public financial funding and contribution from elites, even the overall social milieu. What matter most is the status quo of such research: is it at the elementary phase, mature period or degradation time? In general, more mature the field is, more challenging new breakthroughs can be made. Take China's nuclear weapon development in 1950s as an example. As great determination from chairman Mao and tremendous financial support, such endeavor could take more smooth progress. Despite lacks of theorical foundation, the young scientists who participated in such research, could free from various bridles and explore with their own ways. Thus, why Chinese nuclear model is slightly different from that of America or Russia. In this sense, sometimes other factors might overweight lending knowledge from external fields in regards to deciding significant accomplishment.

In summary, it is beneficial for us to lend ideas or knowledge from other fields, because innovations is likely to emerge and we can explore further via new tools. However, as huge gulf between certain fields, such strategy might fail in some circumstance. Furthermore, many distinct factors could also heavily impact the efficiency of such approach. Therefore, we can't hastily come to the conclusion that corporation with knowledge outside our major would definitely lead to success.