No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and expl

Currently, it is debatable whether no field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from external field. Some people hold a view that the above statement is true since through combination of various perspectives, people can achieve better accomplishments. However, I assert that in some cases, knowledge and experience of outside field is not critical in the advancement of a field, since solely focusing on a particular field of study can also reap a myriad of successes in it.

Granted, in some cases, knowledge and experience of other field is critical, especially in the realm of politics. With the advent of the Great Depression, many people in the United States were mired in hopelessness and poverty. The unemployment rate was lower than ever and people were struggled due to many societal ills such as the scarcity of food and supplements. To solve this adverse economic situation, president Roosevelt and his government implement the New Deal Plan, which were aiming to economic growth. If Roosevelt and his government did not choose to incorporate economic knowledge to politics, the United States could have continuously faced with economic downturn, and people were not able to overcome the economic difficulty. However, since the government authorities accommodate knowledge from outside that field of politics, the U.S. could have been able to situate itself as the world hegemon. Therefore, incorporating external knowledge from outside the field is necessary.

In addition, in the field of science, combining the experience and knowledge of other field is essential to yield a great achievement. To illustrate, the Wright Brother is the forerunner of inventing current model of airplanes. By focusing on the roll of pilots, propellers, wings and engine, they could be able to create the form of airplane, which allow people to travel all around the world more efficiently and conveniently. However, if they did not look at the history and examine the past failure of old airplane models, they were not able to think the importance of propellers, engines and wings, and people are not able to enjoy the mode of cutting-edge technology. Therefore, it is acceptable that a field can advance if it incorporates knowledge from outside the field.

However, not all subjects require knowledge from other field to accomplish advancement, in particular in mathematics. For example, even without knowledge from other field of studies, people who study math could expand their knowledge and gain achievement. Mathematicians such as Pythagoras spent hours on end understanding mathematical concepts and solving difficult problems. Without combining information from other fields, they were able to come up with significant achievement and inculcate students properly. Also, since studying mathematical theorem is an arduous process, incorporating external knowledge might take a toll on their study rather than helping advancement. Therefore, in some field of study, knowledge from outside of that field is not crucial factor to lead a significant achievement.

To sum up, incorporating knowledge and experience from other field of studies are not always necessary. Thus, we should go the extra mile to know whether we need knowledge from other field or not.