No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

For advancing in any field of study, it is certainly need to knowing things out of that field. We are living in the complex world, so that there are direct or indirect correlations between everything. For being knowledgeable, it is necessary to know that relation which is more complicated in the modern time. Furthermore, the abysmal comprehension of the issues, principles, natural cycles, and other material needs having conclusive experience and findings.

First, we have complex world that everything are extremely related one another. In any field, it is obvious that there are lots of hidden factors which should be understood for learning better. For instance, as a landscape architecture, while designing the Healing Garden, I should have been known about the psychology, agriculture, society, people's behaviors, physical material as well as environment. My experience on people and culture which I could have achieved while living far from the family in the dormitory was really pragmatic.

Second, the base of the all fields is the same and all of them are based on the strict rules of the nature. The natural cycles are conductive of all occurrences in the world. As an exemplar, the chemistry, physics, mathematics, medicine have lots of things in common which are fundamental and pivotal. As the materials of the fields are sometime hard to be kept in the mind, knowing those relations can be useful and practical. Thus, while learning new subjects, if we have some information on it, we can easily find the clues, evidences, and logic for all new materials. No doubt, keeping the tremendous information will become ease with the correct background of the past knowledge.

However, in the modern time, it is also urgent and significant to be quite professional and skillful in the field. Maybe, it cannot be helpful to have conclusive experiences while trying to be skillful and expert. For example, in the university, one who is studying managing of a factory, company, or institution doesn't need to know more on the other part of the work such as engineering. It is enough to hire the experts in the decent positions and be sure that they are doing at their best.

Finally, although in some majors, it had better focus just on the professional lessons, totally knowing on the things which don't seem to be directly connected to the field is essential and beneficial.