In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to

have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In

developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the

statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations

shape your position.

The issue suggests that any work of art must be easy to understand and interpret for most people, but This idea is not acceptable, because we cannot restrict artists to follow a rigid framework before creating artwoks. Although simplicity is an important factor, artists have their own definition of this concept which has made a diverse collection of arts. The acclaimed philosophical movies, mystical novel full of symbols are evidences to refute the issue. However, some people cannot interact with these highly meaningful works, because they do not have enough time to think about them.

In the realm of cinema, some directors with philosophical views prefer to make complicated movies which are really hard for ordinary people to grasp the whole idea behind the movie. However, these movies usually recognized as masterpecieas and will be selected as educational examples for novice directors. Admitting to this principle, we should not evaluate a work of art based on the degree to which people can understand it.

Furthermore, using a mystical language may have some advantages for writers or poets, since they can implicitly convey their messages to the audience especially when they are forced to change their subject. For example, during Mongolian invasion of Iran, most literary works had destroyed because they were identified as demoniac. They also warned writers not to create books which do not comply with governmental rules, but this suffocation could not stop them, for they started to express their ideas and theories under a mystical language which remained untouched for a few centuries until the professors and curious students decrypted them. This historical evidence reveals that sometiems avoiding simplicity is necessary to protect some norms and customs for next generations.

Nevertheless, some people are not willing to watch a philosophical movie with obscure dialougs or read a novel full of symbols and stranges. They simply look for a product which is easily digestible without further efforts to think what it was. Fortunately, we have a plenty of simple and cheap cultural products such as aimless movies with lots of brawls, books with fake heroes or pornographic poems that can sooth their appetite.

In conclusion, identifying the value of an artwork based on its simplicity is not justifiable or at least not applicable in any cases. The famous philosophical movies which were hard to interpret but they acclaimed by many critics is one contradictory evidence. Furthermore, the mystical books full of symbols were authored by Iranian shcolars during Mongolian invasion with the aim of protecting cultural values is another example of avoiding simplicity. But some people still prefer not to consume these complicated cultural products and fortunately the access is provided in many markets.