As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

We often think that by relying more and more on technology to solve problems, our ability to think for ourselves deteriorate. This may be true when dealing with businesses that store a lot of crucial information for mundane operations and having no way to access it due to a power outage. A good example happened in 2003 when New York experienced a major blackout. This created an apocalyptic feeling for many New-Yorkers who were stuck inside trains, subways and skyscrapers. There were no phone lines and nobody knew what has happened for many hours. Businesses could not operate for many days due to the fact that they had no access to the data located in the computers. This got more complicated when airplanes could not land or take off. A situation which impacted many flights and humans around the world. However, when thinking about technology in modern times, it is obvious to recognize all of the benefits we have from it. Technology helped humans by saving time and space so we can focus on more complicated things that are out there.

One example could be the importance of research and developing new methods in medicine. While computers can store and prime boundless amount of information, scientist have more time to focus on other areas. This frees time for experts to make faster steps towards the solution of a problem. In the modern world, there are many different discoveries that lead towards medication and vaccines for illnesses that have been fatal for many years, but can be cured today. Technology helped scientist around the world find treatments for various types of Cancer, AIDS and chicken pox. Thanks to technology, human expectancy of life increased and the quality of life improved.

Another example for the benefit of technology is the unlimited knowledge that is out there. Our lives have become a lot easier to handle when you can do so many things without having to leave home. For example, shopping online has become more and more popular since it helps us find the best price and quality of a product without having to leave our home. Amazon Prime is one example among many online businesses which makes the shopping experience so convenient for the customers to purchase with the click of a button. One can shop for food, furniture, clothes and many other essentials while saving time to go outside and look for it. By saving our time, we can manage to do more such as studying for a test and taking care of the household at the same time.

Technology helped people save time in many ways, not to mention the impact it has on the virtual size of earth. It seems as if our globe is shrinking. People can see far places and communicate with friends and family members around the world in no time. Living far away from your family was a hard task in the past as you had to spend many weeks waiting for a letter in order to hear news from home. Today, people travel all around the world and communicate with one another in no time. Using cell phones today, have made our lives even more ambulatory in which it helps us achieve our goals and live life in a less parochial way.

Given these points, technology has increased the quality and quantity of life in many ways. In modern days, people rely on technology in many different aspects of life which can be positive in many ways. It is important to remember that without technology many of the new developments could have not been created, however people must not rely on mere technology without learning the different situations when having to trust our own judgements and thinking. We must remember that men create technology and not the other way around. Our reality is not like in the Terminator movie when technology overcomes humans and we should definitely keep it that way.Therefore, it is important to remember that the benefit of technology is greater than its cost, however people need to know how to use technology in positive ways that help us develop and learn.