As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The effect of technology on the thinking ability of humans is a controversial one. One cannot deny that with the invention of technologies such as calculators and word processing tools, adults and even young students find it difficult to perform simple mathematical calculations or write legibly without these technologies. However, I believe that the reliance on technology to solve problems brings about ease from mundane tasks,help humans to live efficiently and allow more time to combat more critical issues. A couple real world examples supports my point of view.

A prime example is the invention of cars. With this technology,humans can now travel from one place to another easily and faster. This has helped to solve the onerous task of travelling by foot or by horse. This has freed humans to think of more critical problems such as that of air pollution arising from invention of cars. This has led humans into deep research and critical thinking in order to profer ways in which these cars can be used in an environmentally friendly way. These research have given birth to several models for measuring air quality, octane rating of fuels, production of more efficient combustion engines and so on. Admittedly, without the reliance on cars as a means of transportation, the human mind wont be opened to the possibility of such problems as air pollution. Therefore this example shows that the reliance on technology brings about more critical issues that involves deep human thinking to profer solution to.

Futhermore, the internet is an example of technology that has opened the human mind to several possibilities. Before the advent of the internet, humans were only restricted to the information around them. But now with this technology, humans can interact with one another around the globe and ideas can be shared among like minds. Information on the outcome of a research can be obtained upon which new research can be built on. Also, with websites such as WebMed, people can go online and study the information provided about a particular disease which will make them have an informed visit to their doctor. In addition, with the advent of online learning, people can educate themselves and obtain degrees from most universities around the globe via the online distant learning platform. The internet helps to enlighten an individual about the happenings in the world which in turn challenges the individual to think beyond the comfort zone of his environment. Certainly, human reliance on this technology has led to the transient into a higher level of thinking that would have otherwise not have been possible.

In addition, technology has made some things that were once inconceivable to man to become a reality. The invention of telescopes and space ships is another example. Man would never have thought it was possible to know how the outer space or other planets looked like, let alone visit it. However, with the help of the telescopes and space ships, man has been able to explore the outerspace and visit some of these planets. Studies carried out on Mars, for example, have shown that this planet is similar to earth and several studies have been carried outer thereafter to determine if the planet can support life. The microscope is yet another example of a technology that has made it easier for humans to study life and behaviour of micro organisms and then think up solutions in order to combat their insalubrious effect on human lives. Without the invention and reliance on these technologies mentioned, humans will still be consumed with dealing with mundane task thereby preventing the mind from evolving into a higher level of thinking to solve more critical issues.

Therefore, in the final analysis, I believe that reliance on technology to solve problems will not lead to the deterioration of the ability of humans to think for themselves, rather, it gives man the opportunity to engage in solving more complex problems which requires a higher level of thinking. The reliance on cars, internet, telescope, space ships and microscope are real life examples which has shown how human thinking has evolved with the use of technology and hence contradicts the statement presented above.