As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The advancement of technology in this day is age is impressive. There are computers and smartphones in almost every household in the US, which drive and assist us in day-to-day living. Although the development of new technologies assist humans in performing mundane or redundant tasks, humans will still need to understand how to use these applications in order to solve their problems.

People who argue that technology disrupts the human’s ability to think, believe that computers may remove the need for a person to problem solve. Contrary to one hundred years ago, someone who would like to give and receive messages need not familiarize themselves with writing an address, placing a stamp, and walking to the post office. Instead, they could simply select a button on their smartphone and click “Send”. Although many users of email do not understand the underlying workings of this technology, they are able to access its user-friendly features in order to perform their duties. Thus, that individual has lost his or her ability to think about the nuances of sending and receiving mail.

However, thinking does play an important role even with the most advanced technology available. As advanced as automation may be, a person must still understand the big picture of why that technology is applicable. An email is only sent when one deliberately chooses to relay a message to another. In fact, a more accurate description of technology is a means, rather than an end. If one is diminished in their thought process, even the most current technology cannot fulfill their wishes, because computers cannot think for themselves. In addition, even fancy software encounters a plethora of problems quite often, and requires a human to fix the errors. This requires a deep and complex understanding of the inner workings of technology, even if this knowledge is esoteric. Moreover, for technology to advance, people are constantly imagining new creations and ways to solve future difficulties. Without this ingenuity, technology would quickly become obsolete.

The benefits that we have received from technology are only as promising as there are humans to use them. Technology is simply a tool that we can use to solve our goals, and doing so requires free thought and critical thinking. Without human application, these large, complex machines would simply be a junkyard of metallic objects.