As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is constantly adapting and changing to suit human needs. As technology advances we see people staring at their screens instead of engaging in conversation. We find ourselves dependent on features like auto-correct and calculators that limit activity within our minds. If humanity encounters a problem, technology can surely counter it. Over reliance on technology will create vulnerable people that are unable to think and care for themselves.

One of the most favorable features among cell phones and other messaging devices is auto-correct. It is also one of the most damaging. One of the best-said ways to learn is to make mistakes and correct them. In this case, if you make a mistake, there is no learning from it. It is simply corrected for you, stripping you of the ability to learn. This will result in the loss of basic spelling and grammar knowledge.

Technology is also a direct threat to basic communication skills. Once, people were encouraged to make small talk with the person sitting beside them on the bus or in line at the store. This expectation has been long lost in our society. We purposefully look down at our phones at the first sign of potential conversation. This is especially damaging to young children growing in a culture where we pretend we don’t see each other. If we use our technology as an escape goat from conversation then we lose all communication.

Children not only lose basic communication skills but also are raised in a culture where immediate gratification and short attention spans are rewarded through video games and other cell phone apps. This will hinder their ability to learn and excel in their future educations and careers where hard work and delayed gratification are constant.

Technology creates dependence in a world where independence is a necessity. Where freethinking and development move our world forward. If our youth spends their time submerged in technology we lose our innovation, communication, and weaken basic skills.