As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I do not agree with this statement. Inevitably, living with technology is the trend of human life. Technology can help us to solve many problems, and therefore it brings a lot of convenience to our life. However, some people begin to worry about our own ability to think, claiming that with too much aid form technology, human race will lose the capability to solve problems. I cannot support this argument.

Firstly, technology itself is very complicated, and it requires intelligent to handle and improve it. Therefore the thinking ability of human being is able to be strengthened in this process. For example, when there appears a bug in a computer system, computer engineers have to come up with an idea to test this system and remove the bug. By mastering and developing technology human also develops our thinking ability.

Secondly, technology brings us more topic to think. Take artificial intelligence for example, many products based on artificial intelligence like cleaning robots and Siri are customer friendly, but they raise concerns, too. People begin to worry about their reliability while some voices even claiming that we should be alarming to their intelligence. Such considerations coming along with new technology forces people to think, and I believe this kind of thinking can actually benefit our thinking ability.

Thirdly, technology may have freed us from some traditional thinking routines such as daily arithmetic and memorizing the map, but on the other hand it helps us save time and efforts to think. That is to say, only after we do not have to spare our time to meet our basic living requirements can we be able to think freely. For instance, ancient Chinese famers were fully occupied by their farming works. Their cattle and ploughs are inefficient and they have to collect any organic waste to fertilize the soil. Therefore little children from such family were well educated back then. However, nowadays Chinese famers have modern technology to assist them in agriculture, so they have higher income and better education.