As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Today we stand at a point where we need four things for survival- oxygen, food, shelter, technology.

Technology has made our lives far more convenient than we could ever imagine. It has simplified our life so much that it is hard to think of a single day without it. Technology has touched every aspect of the lives of the people and it is so intricately linked with their lives that in its absence, the world will descend into chaos and anxiety. On one hand, technology enriches our lives and on the other hand, in pursuit of ease we have become so over reliant on technology that now life is impossible without it. Let’s think for a second about what would happen if there is no technology. We would wake up in the morning without alarm (which is surely kind of an impossible task for most of the people), we would go to office/school/college all by walking (because transports and vehicles are technology advancements), also it would be scorching heat outside, no fans, no ACs, no phone to contact other people instantly, no phone to order pizza online and so on. Life would surely be a nightmare without technology. Being a tech freak, life would never be possible without my laptop or phone. I must say technology has over the course of time made our lives faster, easier and comfortable. It is true that technology is getting in the way. I agree that people rely more and more on technology these days to solve problems but I believe the ability of humans to think for themselves has been improving rather than deteriorating. Talking about IT & software world, technology has inevitably led software engineers to make web and mobile applications using various platforms. The platforms which aid the engineers to think and make applications. The technological platforms which help the developers to think of the user experience. No technology can replace the engineers to solve the problems of user interface or user experience. It is the power of the human brain which uses logic and makes possible technology advancements.

Someone has truly said, “Science is a good servant but a bad master of human beings”. No doubt, the use of calculator has lowered human labor to a great extent. The complex calculations which used to require much time before can now be done simply within fraction of seconds. But now-a-days people have become excessively dependent on calculators for every type of calculations be it simple or complex, which ultimately prevent them especially the children and youth to enhance their mental aptitude. And that’s the very reason why old generation are more advanced in mental maths than the new generation. However, this may not be the case with every individual. There are still people who are great at mental mathematics and aptitude.

I agree that technology can be a major inhibitor to the humanity but I also believe that boycotting technology is not the ultimate option. Whether we like it or not, technology is here to stay and an elimination approach is the wrong way to go. You just can’t throw your cell phone out of the window or toss your laptop in the trash because technology will still be a part of your life in one or the other way. But how important that part of your life is up to you. The concern over reliance on technology may lead to deterioration of thinking abilities is valid especially for those people who fail to exercise their brain power. People who take technology for granted. People who rely on technology for every decision of their lives. For example, Television (which is often called as an idiot box) has a greater negative influence on kids and teenagers. It is very true that Television has been prevalent in every aspect of journalism be it news, media, multimedia etc. But watching TV continuously can slow down the metabolic rate and can lead to obesity and other health concerns. Also, it is responsible for reducing brain development.

Well, the advancement of technology is itself a wonder of the human mind. And I believe we need to embrace what technology has to offer and find ways to balance our use of technology with our lives.

We can’t download time, we can’t upload love and we can’t google certain questions of our life. We must actually live some of our life. The development of technology is still dependent on the power of human thinking capabilities. The need of technology is not always to solve our problems but to aid our thought process in solving the real world problems. At last but not the least, the power of the human brain is unfathomable. Let us not limit its power to technology. Let us take the help of technology to channelize our thoughts and become slaves to it.