As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoni

The advances in technology have had a profound impact on the types of activities that humans spend their time performing. Instead of having to spend days or even weeks travelling from one city to another, mankind can now make use of vehicles that only require hours. Thus technology has certianly made our lives easier by simply relying on that technology, but has it also affected the ability of humans to think for themselves? No in fact, the advancements in science have ushered in more complex problems that require a greater ability for mankind to solve problems than ever before.

With the rapid advances in many fields of science, problems that once seemed impossible to solve are now dealt with everyday. Diseases that once baffled doctors can now be treated at home with a few doses of medicine. Computations that in the past required teams of mathmaticines to work for weeks can now be solved in seconds with advanced supercomputers. As such these advances instead of deteriorating the ability of humans to think actually remove the mundane, time intensive work, and they allow mankind to instead focus their attention on solving additional issues. As such, technological advancements have worked to save time that is then able to be spent on thinking about solutions to further problems.

Additionally technology has not only saved time for humans to focus on other pressing issues, it has also caused problems that will require even greater problem solving and planning than ever before. With the rise of factories to mass produce items and vehicles to transport both those items and humans around the world, greenhouse gases have been increasingly pumped into our atmosphere. As such, these gases threaten our global ecosystem by causing global climate change. Climate change threatens to cause more severe storms around the world as well as increase the sea level. Both actions will result in possibly millions of deaths around the world. As such, mankind now must use its problem solving abilities to create, test, and implement solutions to this growing problem. Thus the rise of technology has not resulted in a decay of thinking but a requirement for further discovery.

On the other hand, critics might argue that technology such as social media has resulted in a deterioration of our thinking abilities. They might point out the growing frequency of fake news articles that are continuing to circulate on the internet. In fact, they might further contend that the fact that people are believing obviously false reports, simply because their friends on social media shared the article, points to a lack of critical thinking by humans. While there certainly are instances of people believing fake articles instead of thinking about the issue for themselves, those critics are focusing on a small group of individuals instead of the many benefits that social media and the internet have brought. When combined, social media and the internet have allowed for more people than before to stay up to date with the news and issues facing the world. As such, the overall effect of technology in this case was positive because more people are thinking and learning about the world and its issues.

Advances in technology have resulted in mankind suffering from fewer problems than previous generations; however, technology has also allowed harder problems to be attempted than ever before. While there certainly are cases of technological advances resulting in groups of people less able to think for themselves, the cumulative effect has been a positive one. Technology is a tool that can be and has been used to further problem solving, and as such, it cannot be blamed for people using it as a crutch.