As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Essay topics in audio

In asserting that more reliance on technology to solve problems leads to depreciation in ability of humans to think for themselves, the speaker failed to acknowledge other diverse issues-requiring thinking to solve- aside technology which confronts humans on daily basis. Nevertheless, I agree with the statement only to the extent that deterioration of human minds might occur when “only” technology issues are considered. In order cases as will be elucidated in the points below, it won’t be so.

Due to the ambiguous nature of the statement “the ability of human to think for its self will deteriorate” I will assume the clause to mean “ability to solve daily problems which confronts we humans will reduce”. Admittedly, dependence on technology such as computer system applications, in bid of making life easier has resulted in reducing our cognitive thinking process. Take for instance, the use of spell check in Ms.word. While improving word accuracy through its auto correct mechanism, it has inconspicuously reduced our ability to spell correctly in the absence of spell checks. Also, the use of calculator is another striking example. Due to constant use of calculator, many people’s ability to do little arithmetic problem manually has become a nightmare.

With these examples, it could easily be argued that ability of humans to think for themselves depreciates but when viewed holistically, it is not so because human problems aren’t just confined within technology. Consequently, while peoples thinking on how to solve minor problem as iterated in the examples above might depreciate, the thinking ability on other life issues such as family, political, financial issues do not. For example, a CEO of a company might depend totally on a calculator to make all his calculation, but definitely he will continuously think on ways to improve the company’s revenue. Additionally, the use of technology has created opened doors for more issues which people constantly think on how to manage. In cases like Water pollution caused by manufacturing firms, communities think of ways to purify and create appropriate waste management system. What of gas fumes from vehicles? Don’t humans think on daily basis on how to fight the global warming situation those gases have posed to the environment. Of course yes.

Moreover, human wants are insatiably. In bid of trying to get better technology services, there is huge demands on producing more sophisticated machines. Currently, there is high demand on car manufacturers to start producing fully automated cars and cars that run on water. Obviously, producing this kind of machines needs more cognitive process which leads to more thinking. Notwithstanding, people might want to undermine this assertion by saying that such thinking applies to only people in field such as engineering. Implicitly implying that people in other fields remains vulnerable to having their minds depreciate. However, just like I earlier said, will maintain my stand that everyone thinks. A researcher thinks on how to discover new things, a medical doctor thinks and observes to make diagnosis, a politician thinks to on how to strategically win an election, a country leader thinks on how to increase the welfare of his subordinates. Time cannot permit me to exhaust the list.

In conclusion, contrary to the claim above, refraining our minds from solving the same problem that technology has provided solutions for, rather than deteriorate our ability to think, gives us an ample time to focus on more pressing issues.