As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology is an ace for human race, as it is turning out to change people's life drastically. New technology and scientific advancements are making lives of humans easier day-by-day solving our problems, increasing comforts and facilities. In my opinion, the author's assertion is relatively extreme stating that technology persists a negative effect on humans, it deteriorates their ability to think for themselves. I am in a partial disagreement to the author's point of view.

We are living in a fast paced world, making advancements day-by-day in every aspect. Technology is one of them, and most probably the most monumental of all. Discoveries and inventions have facilitated our lives, telephone, cars, railways, internet, television, computer etc. are all result of these advancements. Efficiency and productivity in problem solving has increased formidably. With technology access to everything is on our finger tips. Education, communication, entertainment, travel, medical and health industries, etc. all the disciplines had burgeoned with the advent and progress in technology and scientific advancements.

However, technology also possesses a pessimistic side to it. These discoveries and inventions has increased our dependency over them. For instance, in a steel factory, due to the installation of latest machinery and technology in it, the requirement of manpower has decreased. The use of technology has deprecated the abilities of human brain. For example, use of calculators and spell checkers has affected how humans use their brain. The excessive dependence on technology has made people dull in thinking, demeaning the creative aspect of a human being.

As a coda to my opinions, technology has definitely ameliorated our lives, facilitating us with its bestows. However, factors such as over-dependency if not considered, could further result in novel and more intrinsic problems for us to face.