As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Technology is advancing and this a fact that everyone is aware of. But, the enigmatic part is the fact that the general public's reliance on technology is also burgeoning. The ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate if this reliance is not put under a check. The reliance is clearly visible in the form of the number of gadgets and their usage. The essay will dissect the given issue's prevalence for the different sections of the society.

The ability of humans to think for themselves is the power which differentiates them from others. So, if it is diminishing then it is a matter of concern. For the laypeople technology is nothing but a convenience. Anything that reduces time and effort is technology. But, as Bertrand Russel said " Technology should be combined with wisdom to get productive results", our view of technology should be of a tool and not of a helper.

The habit of going to the libraries , putting effort in research and understanding the concepts thoroughly has become obsolete. Yes, it was time consuming but it is this process that improved our thinking ability. Today it is very easy for anyone who has access to internet to get the answers. For instance, the use of calculators has intensified so much that the students tumble at doing simple calculations when asked to do it without the use of calculators. Quality writing and grammar have started to become a thing of rarity. When a person looks for a connotation of the word in the dictionary it is often that he learns a few more words than intended but that is not the case when we use applications like "GrammarCheck".

However, dependence on technology is not a complete bane. For analysts, scientists and people who are into research and work for the upliftment of the society, technology has proved to be friend. Their motto is not to get calculations done quickly or to solve complex situations, but to improve the world in which we live. Human interference has harmed the environment and climate change is real. Recently a study found out that the decade gone was the hottest decade on record. Bushfires, floods, extreme cold all are adding to it. In such circumstances it is the ability of humans and technology that will help save lives and revert back to normal. Be it Electric vehicles, renewable energy sources or digitization, all of them are a step in right direction, because we want our measures to be progressive rather than regressive.

As it is famously said, " Give a man a fish, you feed him once. Teach a man to fish, you feed him for life." This should be the essence of our reliance on technology. My partial agreement with the issue is because technology being a support is detrimental for human ability to think , but technology's multifaceted impact cannot be overlooked