People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

A good decision is one that is in the decision maker's best interest, and one that the decision maker would not regret. Making emotional decisions often lead to poor decision making, and the attempt to justify poor decision making with logic would only aggravate the mistake.

Decision making is not a trivial task for our brain. The brain works assiduously to gather useful information from multiple brain areas to assist us in making the most informed decision possible. The process of decision making occurs in the highest-functioning brain area called prefrontal cortex, an area that develops throughout adolescence, responsible for complex planning, abstraction and logic; whereas emotion occurs in primitive brain areas such as amygdala or basal ganglia, which are common in a lot of lower mammals, such as mice. Trusting emotions to guide our decisions arguably reduces our capability to judge the situation to that of a lower mammal. It causes us to overlook important input and cues available to us, and only resort to our most primitive subconsciousness.

For exactly the biological basis explained above, basing decisions on emotions often diminish our most valued humanity in our decision making. There are endless incidences, in both public and private domains, where people resort to fear and anger and make detrimental decisions for their future. For example, the irrational fear of terrorism has caused the people in the UK to vote in a recent referendum to leave the European Union. The people who voted for leaving EU had wanted the restriction on Free movement so badly that they failed to consider the detrimental consequences to the British economy following leaving the EU. Out of bigoted hatred or irrational fear, they voted for Britain to become an insular country. Many regretted the decision after, as reported by the mainstream media, yet a referendum cannot be reverted. Decisions made under the influence of emotion are bound to be fickle, hence often regretful.

To try to justify an emotional decision with logic would only be fooling your brain to strengthen what your gut told you. It is not a process of critical reflection, make no mistake. Once an irreversible decision is made, the decision maker is now under the influence of a powerful psychological phenomenon called 'Cognitive dissonance'. Cognitive dissonance is defined by the discomfort caused by the difficulties in justifying the emotional decision and the difficulties in reversing said decision. This discomfort is so strong, that the person often is motivated to find a justification for the decision, no matter how unjustifiable it is. This result in wrong beliefs being strengthened, and critical thinking being disrupted further.