People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement by author is polemical itself. It states that deciding on the basis of emotions and later justifying them with logic is a characteristic of poor decision makers. However, I somewhere disagree with the aforementioned sentence.

For example, assume a profitable food corporation making decisions on their one of the important policy with solely logic. They decided to close their certain product stores, which are going on loss. Now, what will be the repercussions of this decision taken keeping in mind the logic behind it? It might be possible that the local people residing in that particular area, evaluate this decision via emotions. They saw this step as a curse for employment in that region. This emotional evaluation might discredit the company's public image, and because of this, it might lose its valuable customers. In this case, this particular decision will turn down the revenue and the company might be in lose.

Similarly, for example, P&G company in India is an efficient holder of both, the profits and the emotional attachments of customers. A company working purely for profits is common, but an industry working for profits as well as the emotional attention of people, is not only uncommon but also, improving in its hold over market. Based on this thinking, P&G private limited is actively seeking heart of many buyers of its products. This is because, for every product, The P&G company donates a percent of its cost to an organization, Shiksha. This NGO works so as to support students in education by building schools and providing them books. In this way, many people are buying its items to contribute in this cause.

However, some might say that, what if an emotionally taken decision taken costs the company adversely? What if logic can enhance the decision and hence can profligate the company's market value. In order to answer such questions, one should keep in mind what the statement actually states. Taking decision based on decisions might downgrade the profit or value, but justifying them afterwards with logic, might prevent it from this danger. Hence, double crossing is always good for a person as well as for a multinational company.

To conclude, taking decision with mind might result in profit, but taking decision with mind as well as heart is always considered salubrious. Also, as Liz Maw, CEO of Net Impact says, "Sustainability is not only necessary for people or the planet, but also important for the success of business", one should keep this sustainabilty in mind by taking decisions emotionally and rationally.