People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

What determines people's behavior more largely? Admittedly, human beings are animals of society and force of communities they are in displays an irreplaceable role in determining their behaviors. Whereas, it is individuals' subjective initiative that demonstrates the distinction between mankind and other animals. Therefore while the broad mass of people are accustomed to be forced to behave, those who own a stronger will and clearer mind should get rid of others' restriction and hold their destiny in their own hand.

Since the originality, human beings are bound to some animal instinct though they had spent thousands of years to cast off. One's eagerness for relying on community serves as a good illustration. Growing up in a group of people, one innately turns to their surroundings for help when encountering with problems and the attitude of people around accordingly exerts subtle influence on their behaviors. For instance, one's desire for consumption can be simply raised by his friends' tendency of shopping. Similarly, children living in civilized communities appear to be more excellent than children raised in some poor and disordered areas. Thus one’s behaviors can hardly get rid of some effects from their community and depends on some unchangeable factors.

Although the force of environment is powerful, people can occasionally decide their own behaviors. In most cases, the choice of obeying and aberrance is up to one’s will and the decision of disobeying the convention or challenging the authority marks one’s superiority to ordinary. Claude Monet could have conformed the tradition of realistic style in his paintings, but he decided to revolt to it and create an unconventional manner of expressing scenery. The attempt turned out to be a milestone in Impressionism and perfectly demonstrated how significant the subjective initiative is when it comes to making groundbreaking achievements in the field of art and science.

Viewed in a broader background in modern times, diverse individuals behave according to different patterns. For general public lacking in free will, their behaviors are largely determined by the tendency of their communities instead of their own making. Meanwhile, the excellent minority holds the courage to breakthrough boundaries of tradition and outstands from ordinary by their creation or discovery, which implements the development of society generation after generation. Hence the capability of determining one’s behaviors not only distinguishes animals and human being but also decides one’s success in his career.

Conclusively, people’s behavior is determined either by his environment or by his own will. Which one takes a leading role depends on one’s attitude as well as willpower and thereby discriminate the accomplishment of individuals.