Peoples behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making

Peoples behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making. When we get born, we are surrounded by our environment and start to get all kinds of influences, including family background, nature, education, culture, political events, and everything. Some may argue that themselves are conscious and what they do is base on their own volition, but I seriously doubt that.

I’m not saying that there might be an almighty god beyond this world and control everything. But I’m saying that from biology perspective, human beings, after all, are just a bunch of protein compounds and water, making decision based on chemical reactions in their brain, and this could also imply the very fact that, we are never free, and perhaps, ever.

When we are young, most of the time we don’t make decision, what we do is because we are told to do. Our parents tell us to study hard, so we study hard. Our teacher teach us math, so we learn math.

For more educated families, their parents would probably buy additional learning material, so the children could do better in school with higher chances. If we born in typical American family, we would eat just like what our parents eat in American way, low chances for Chinese food. Everything we do can be easily explained with probability, statistics, so obviously we are like animal, repeatedly doing things predictable. From this example, it is enough to infer that if something is predictable, that means we know the relation between its cause and result, and therefore prove that it is determined by some forces.

However, somehow things are getting unclear and arbitrary when we pass adolescent, we start to become independent and make decisions and take responsibilities on our own. We longer follow every rules set by our parents, and sometimes even skip classes. Things are so random that it is unlikely to prognosticate any more. So could that means the statement no longer hold anymore?

From the physics point of view, if we know the function of an object, we are able to predict its motion, velocity, location, and so on. But there was a turning point since the development of field of quantum mechanics. It founds that the behavior of the molecules is perfectly random, and thus, unpredictable. So there do exist something which can’t be determined by forces.

Nevertheless, physics also tell us the rule of entropy, which means that the quantum mechanic theory can be hold only in molecule scale. In human beings scale, everything is not random. The reason we can’t predict human behavior after adolescent is just merely because we don’t have enough informations to make decent prediction. Nowadays, new technology such as artificial intelligence can predict human behavior with high accuracy. Base on the past data, they are able to predict our future motions, our preferences, habits and so on. That means, our decision making, free thinking, and everything could be just the result of some yet unknown factors.

It is clear to say that people are not of their own making. From the example, we adduce that if something is predictable that means it is under control of the rules. And based on physics, probability, and statistics, though arbitrary, we can still predict human behavior with high accuracy, and hence vicariously prove that human beings are determined by their enviroment.